Anthony Lemke

Share this page

A devoted ambassador

Official ambassador in Canada for Handicap International actor Anthony Lemke takes on the responsibility of helping to raise Canadians’ awareness of HI’s efforts and goals around the world; he visits regions affected by the devastating use of explosive weapons where HI intervenes, and he assists in lobbying for reducing the impact of armed conflicts on innocent civilians.

“As with many first generation Canadians, I recall the horrifying stories of those in my family who were forced to flee their war-torn homelands. But they were the lucky ones who made it to safety. Many didn’t. Upon discovering the incredible work that Handicap International was doing, I knew I had to get involved,” commented Lemke. “The impact that HI’s humanitarian response is having on individuals who have been injured, maimed, or displaced in devastated regions such as Syria, Iraq, Yemen or Republic of South Sudan is humbling. I’m completely honored and committed to doing what I can to help raise awareness of this extremely important cause.”

 

 

A fixture on Canadian screens, Lemke has a deep and diverse collection of credits to his name that span over 15 years as a leading actor in the Canadian film and television industry. Most recently, he has a lead role in the SyFy Channel’s hit series Dark Matter which airs on Space TV in Canada and was renewed for a second season.  The show screens with SyFy in 83 territories around the world including France, Italy, England and Germany and each week during it’s first season it continued to rank in the top rated spots. Other projects in his prolific career include the hard-driving Detective Sergeant Brian Becker in CTV’s The Listener; a two-season arc on Bravo’s award-winning cop drama 19-2; as well as numerous multiple episode arcs and guest star appearances on shows like the sexy, supernatural series Lost Girl, the absurd college-comedy Blue Mountain State, and the hit-cop drama Flashpoint. His French language productions include regular and recurring roles in Les hauts et les bas de Sophie Paquin, MiradorMémoires Vives and 30 Vies. Anthony is also a graduate of the McGill Faculty of Law, holding degrees in both common and civil law.

 


 

Anthony Lemke visits Laos to see how Handicap International is helping end the scourge of unexploded ordonance

The tiny Southeast Asian nation of Laos has the terrible distinction of being one the most bombed places on Earth. During the Vietnam War, the United States dropped more than two million tons of ordnance on the country, more than all the bombs dropped in Europe during World War II. That number includes at least 270 million cluster munitions, up to 30 per cent of which failed to detonate. Today, more than four decades after the last bomb fell, people are still being maimed and killed by the unexploded ordnance (UXO) scattered throughout Laos’ forests and fields.

"What struck me about the situation in Laos is that for most Canadians, me included, the Vietnam War is a war from the history books. We don't really think about it anymore," declared the HI Canada ambassador. “It's been over 40 years since it ended. But people in Laos are still getting killed and maimed by that war today.

 

Read Toronto Star's full article here.


 

Visite of the Dark Matter set

On March 21, 2017, Anthony Lemke gave a private tour of the Dark Matter set to a large donor who had the chance to watch the shooting of her favorite actor's TV series in recognition of her generous gift. She spent a wonderful time discovering what's going on behind the scenes and meeting the crew of the series. Thanks to everyone's commitment at the studio, the privileged guest really felt like part of the team!

 

Published on 05/10/2016 - 11:29.

Anthony Lemke

Partagez cette page

Ambassadeur de Handicap International au Canada depuis novembre 2015, l'acteur Anthony Lemke est chargé d’attirer l’attention des Canadiens sur les efforts et les buts poursuivis par l’organisation à travers le monde. Il visite les régions ravagées par l’usage d’armes explosives et témoigne de l’action de HI sur le terrain. Anthony Lemke soutiend aussi les efforts de plaidoyer pour réduire l’impact des conflits armés sur les populations civiles.

« Comme beaucoup de Canadiens issus de l’immigration, je me souviens des récits terribles de membres de ma famille contraints de fuir leurs pays déchirés par la guerre. Ils faisaient pourtant partie des chanceux, ceux qui s’en sont sortis. Beaucoup n’ont pas eu cette chance. En découvrant le travail extraordinaire de Handicap International, j’ai tout de suite su que je devais m’impliquer », explique Anthony Lemke. « C’est impressionnant l’impact que les actions humanitaires de HI ont sur la vie des victimes qui ont été blessées ou mutilées, ou qui ont dû fuir des régions dévastées comme en Syrie, en Irak, au Yémen ou en République du Sud Soudan. Je suis très honoré d’être leur ambassadeur et je m’engage à faire ma part pour sensibiliser les Canadiens à cette grande cause. »

 

 

 

 

Depuis plus de quinze ans, Anthony Lemke occupe une place prépondérante dans l’industrie de la télévision et du grand écran au Canada. Actuellement, l’acteur incarne un rôle de premier plan – renouvelé pour une deuxième saison –  dans la série à succès Dark Matter de la chaîne SYFY,  diffusée sur Space TV au Canada et distribuée dans 83 régions à travers le monde, parmi lesquelles la France, l’Italie, l’Angleterre et l’Allemagne. À chaque semaine durant sa 1ère saison, la série s’imposait en haut des classements des meilleures émissions. Parmi les autres rôles qui ont marqué sa carrière prolifique, on peut citer le redoutable sergent détective Brian Becker dans Les pouvoirs de Toby-The Listener (CTV), ou encore son rôle sur deux saisons dans la série policière dramatique 19-2 (Bravo) récompensée par de nombreux prix. Il a aussi incarné des rôles récurrents et fait des apparitions dans de nombreuses séries à succès, comme Baiser fatal, cette série fantastique et sexy, ou encore Blue Mountain State une comédie déjantée dans un milieu universitaire, et Flashpoint, série policière populaire. Au Québec, il a fait un passage remarqué dans Les hauts et les bas de Sophie Paquin en y incarnant David. Il a aussi été de la distribution de la deuxième saison de Mirador, présentée à Radio Canada, ainsi que de Mémoires Vives et de 30 Vies.

Anthony Lemke détient par ailleurs un double diplôme de l’université de McGill, en droit civil et en « Common Law ».

 


 

Anthony Lemke a visité le Laos pour voir comment Handicap International aide à mettre fin au fléau des munitions non explosées

 

Petite nation d'Asie du Sud-Est, le Laos a la terrible réputation d'être l'un des endroits les plus bombardés de la Terre. Au cours de la guerre du Vietnam, les États-Unis ont largué plus de deux millions de tonnes d'artillerie sur le pays, soit plus que toutes les bombes tombées en Europe pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce nombre comprend au moins 270 millions d'armes à sous-munitions, dont 30% n'ont pas détoné. Aujourd'hui, plus de quatre décennies après la chute de la dernière bombe, des personnes continuent d'être mutilées et tuées par les munitions non explosées (UXO) éparpillées dans les forêts et les champs du Laos.

« Ce qui m'a frappé à propos de la situation au Laos, c'est que pour la plupart des Canadiens, la guerre du Vietnam est une guerre des livres d'histoire. Nous n'y pensons plus, a déclaré  Anthony Lemke. Ça s'est terminé il y a 40 ans mais les gens au Laos sont tués et mutilés par cette guerre encore aujourd'hui. »

Consultez la couverture du Toronto Star sur les restes d'explosifs de guerre.

 

 

Publié le 10.05.2016 - 11:29.